Lloyd's List is part of Maritime Intelligence

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited, registered in England and Wales with company number 13831625 and address c/o Hackwood Secretaries Limited, One Silk Street, London EC2Y 8HQ, United Kingdom. Lloyd’s List Intelligence is a trading name of Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited. Lloyd’s is the registered trademark of the Society Incorporated by the Lloyd’s Act 1871 by the name of Lloyd’s.

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use. For high-quality copies or electronic reprints for distribution to colleagues or customers, please call UK support at +44 (0)20 3377 3996 / APAC support at +65 6508 2430

Printed By


Lloyd’s List Asia Pacific Awards winners revealed

CMA CGM, DNV GL, APL, PSA, IBM and Berge Bulk walk away with awards of excellence at Asia’s shipping Oscars ceremony

IMC founder Frank Tsao honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his extraordinary career and the pivotal role he has played in the development of Asian shipping

INDUSTRY-leading innovation and enhanced efficiency across the supply chain won the day at the Lloyd’s List Asia Pacific Awards 2018, held in Singapore on Thursday evening.

The winning line-up of entries for the annual celebration of excellence and outstanding performance in shipping was dominated by a common thread of innovative responses to industry issues, including clean fuel, digitalisation and enhanced efficiency of operations. 

“To move forward, the industry needs bold leadership to stimulate creative thinking and new solutions — and that is what we have seen here tonight in Singapore in all our winning entries,” said Lloyd’s List editor Richard Meade.

CMA CGM walked away with the evening’s top prize — Company of the Year.

The independent judging panel cited the container line’s impressive commercial performance as a key factor but said that the combination of a market-leading investment in LNG-fuelled vessels, the establishment of a start-up incubator, investment beyond maritime into logistics and a consistent commitment to safety and environmentally friendly operations all added up to make a winning formula for the 2018 honour.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to the founder and senior chairman of IMC Group, Tan Sri Frank Tsao Wen King.

The award recognised Mr Tsao’s long and illustrious career over 70 years, in which he has played a pivotal role, not just in shaping the growth of the maritime industry, but in promoting maritime education and research across Asia.

While Mr Tsao, 92, was unable to attend the ceremony in person due to ill health, the award was collected on his behalf by IMC Industrial Group managing director Ryan Chan.

In other categories, DNV GL walked away with the Data Innovation Award, but was also recognised for its involvement in the Environment Award-winning Green Corridor Project, established to find an environmentally friendly way to transport iron ore and coal between Australia and China.

The judging panel was “seriously impressed by the collaborative way in which this extraordinary joint industry venture has pioneered LNG-fuelled dry bulk transport and is now super-sizing the initial project with a very large ore carrier platform”.

In the sector specific categories, Berge Bulk won Dry Bulk Operator of the Year, APL won Containership Operator of the Year and Synergy bagged the Shipmanager of the Year prize.

The glittering ceremony, held at Singapore’s Shangri-La Hotel, saw more than 450 guests turn out to cheer on the winners of the coveted awards.

A 40% increase in the number of entries this year across all sectors and countries highlighted the growing demand from companies seeking independent recognition of their achievements to stand out in a tough market.

“Lloyd’s List established these awards more than 20 years ago to recognise the talent and consistent quality inherent in shipping, through good times and bad, and promote positive change and innovation,” said Mr Meade, speaking at the ceremony.

“We offer our congratulations and admiration to all the awards winners for their individually impressive achievements and their collective commitment to quality which sets the standard for others to follow.”

*The finale to the Lloyd’s List Awards will be the Global Awards ceremony to be held in London on December 11.

The deadline for entries is September 28. Categories can be viewed here. Entries can be registered here.


Related Content





Ask The Analyst

Please Note: You can also Click below Link for Ask the Analyst
Ask The Analyst

Your question has been successfully sent to the email address below and we will get back as soon as possible. my@email.address.

All fields are required.

Please make sure all fields are completed.

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please enter a valid Phone Number

Ask your question to our analysts